Opening a book forum

April 20, 2019

2019 Jerusalem Prize Award Ceremony- Prize Awarded to Joyce Carol Oates Followed by A Tribute Discussion to Amos Oz Featuring President Reuven RivlinProf. Fania Oz-Salzberger and Kobi Meidan

  • The event will be held in English.

Since 1963, the mayor of Jerusalem has awarded the Jerusalem Prize to authors whose writing expresses and promotes the idea of freedom of the individual in Society. The 2019 recipient is the American author Joyce Carol Oates, who has written dozens of works in different genres and is considered one of the most prominent and important writers of our generation. Oates will join the prestigious list of Jerusalem Prize laureates, among them Karl Ove Knausgård, Mario Vargas Llosa, J. M. Coetzee, Ian McEwan, and Haruki Murakami, and will deliver a speech at the ceremony.

At the end of the ceremony, a tribute discussion to Amos Oz will take place. Kobi Meidan will talk with President Reuven Rivlin and Prof. Fania Oz-Salzberger, daughter of Amos Oz.

Recent posts
Leopolis Jazz Fest 2020
Concerts featuring over a hundred world class musicians, performing on three stages in the city’s downtown area, over 100,000 spectators and around 200 accredited press reporters.

Leave a comment